The Jeffrey L. Reider & Charles F. Otis Endowed Scholarship

The Jeffrey L. Reider and Charles F. Otis Endowed Scholarship annually provides a one-time scholarship award of $5,000 to a lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer (LGBTQ) or straight student who has demonstrated a willingness to advance the rights and acceptances of the LGBTQ community.

The scholarship is available for undergraduate (excluding first years) or graduate students who attend the University of Virginia on a full time basis. The scholarship will also consider activity in the musical arts (but is not limited to the musical arts).

Prior year recipients are listed here.


Jaime HartlessThe 2015 Reider-Otis Scholarship award recipient is Jaime Hartless (GSAS ’17).

Jaime is a Ph.D. candidate in the sociology department. Before arriving at the University of Virginia, she graduated summa cum laude from Randolph-Macon Woman’s College with a B.A. in Sociology/Anthropology with concentrations in Women’s Studies and American Culture and received an M.Sc. in Sociology from the University of Oxford. Her doctoral dissertation compares the dynamics of ally involvement in LGBTQ activism and male engagement with feminism, and she has also researched the social construction and gendered dimensions of queer spaces.

Jaime is deeply involved with the LGBTQ community within the University (i.e. by volunteering at the LGBTQ Center and serving as a panelist for the LGBTQ Speakers’ Bureau), within the broader Charlottesville community (i.e. by being a regular facilitator for ROSMY Blue Ridge, a local support group for LGBTQ youth), and within the discipline of Sociology (i.e. by serving as the Chair-Elect for the American Sociological Association’s LGBTQ Caucus).