Skip to main content


Bernard D. Mayes Award

This award recognizes notable alumni and faculty who have contributed positively to advancing LGBTQ causes both within the University community and beyond. Established in 1999 in honor of the late Bernard D. Mayes, former Assistant Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, the award was given to him at the 1st Annual QVA Fall Weekend and Awards Gala on October 30, 1999 for his lifetime support of LGBTQ students at the University.

Outstanding Service Award

In recognition of the important role of the faculty, staff, and others, QVA established its Outstanding Service Award in 2005 to recognize individuals contributing to a more positive and supportive culture at the University for LGBTQ students and significant improvement in the lives of the LGBTQ community on Grounds.

Shamim Sisson Ally of the Year Award

This award seeks to recognize a member of the University community who has gone above and beyond in their daily life in supporting the LGBTQ community, furthering the rights and acceptance of queer-identified individuals at the University of Virginia and beyond. Shamim Sisson was presented with the inaugural award at UVa’s inaugural Lavender Graduation Ceremony on May 1, 2009.

Each of these awards is decided on annually by the QVA Board of Directors. 

The Bernard Mayes award and Outstanding Service award are decided on annually by the QVA Board of Directors. The Ally of the Year award is decided on by LGBTQ Center staff annually. For more information or to nominate someone, please write to