Every fall, the Serpentine Society selects recipients for two prestigious awards and presents them at the annual fall Gala Awards Dinner.

Since 1999, the Bernard D. Mayes Award has recognized alumni and faculty who have made significant contributions in support of LGBTQ causes, in the University community and beyond, in honor of the late Bernard D. Mayes, former Assistant Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. More

The Outstanding Service Award is given annually to recognize a member of the University community who has contributed positively to LGBTQ causes on Grounds. More

Also presented on the same evening is the LGBTQ Center’s V. Shamim Sisson Ally of the Year Award recognizing achievements in supporting the LGBTQ community while furthering the rights and acceptance of queer-identified individuals at UVa. More

Click here for the 2015 Serpentine Society Awards press release.